Change who has administrative privileges

Administrative privileges are a way of deciding who can make changes to important parts of the system. You can change which users have admin privileges and which ones don't. They are a good way of keeping your system secure and preventing potentially damaging unauthorized changes.

  1. Click your name in the menu bar and select User Accounts.

  2. Click Unlock and enter your password to unlock the account settings. (To give a user admin privileges, you must have admin privileges yourself.)

  3. Select the user whose privileges you want to change.

    • Choose Administrator if you want the user to be able to perform administrative tasks, like installing new applications.

    • Choose Standard if you don't want the user to be able to perform admin tasks.

  4. Close the User Accounts window. The user's privileges will be changed when they next log in.

The first user account on the system has admin privileges. This is the user account that was created when you first installed the system.

It is unwise to have too many users with Administrator privileges on one system.