Delete a user account

You can add multiple user accounts to your computer. See Add a new user account to learn how. If somebody is no longer using your computer, you can delete that user's account.

  1. Click your name in the menu bar and select User Accounts.

  2. Click Unlock in the top right corner and type your password to make changes. You must be an administrative user to delete user accounts.

  3. Select the user you want to delete and click the - button.

  4. Each user has their own home folder for their files and settings. You can choose to keep or delete the user's home folder. Click Delete Files if you're sure they won't be used anymore and you need to free up disk space. These files are permanently deleted. They can't be recovered. You may want to back up the files to an external drive or CD before deleting them.